The Collective Society Awards

DR. WILLA COFIELD - 2019 Collective Society's Legacy Award


 Filmmaker and educator Willa Cofield traces the colorful history of the Brick School, a pioneering boarding institution which provided education for African-Americans in segregated North Carolina from 1895 to 1933. The Brick School Legacy details the story of educator Thomas Sewell Inborden, who founded the Brick School in 1895 to serve the large number of rural African-Americans in the eastern North Carolina counties, and to provide solid academic training and an extension program for agricultural workers  

SENATOR ANGELA BRYANT - 2019 Collective Society's Pinnacle Awards


Senator Bryant represented the 7th district in the North Carolina House of Representatives starting with her appointment in 2007 to fill a vacancy caused by the resignation of Ed Jones upon his appointment to the state Senate. She was re-elected in 2008, 2010, and 2012. In 2013, she was selected by a committee of local Democrats and then appointed by Governor Pat McCrory (who was required to accept the local committee's selection), to fill the seat of state Sen. Ed Jones, who had died after being re-elected in the 2012 general election. She represented District 4 in the North Carolina Senate (including constituents in Halifax, Nash, Vance, Warren, and Wilson counties). 


The Collective Society's Educators Awards


The 2019 Halifax County Teacher of the Year Award winners;   

Ms. Tracey Brinkley - Northwest Collegiate & Technical Academy, Mrs. Sonya Boone - Enfield Middle STEAM Academy, Ms. Deborah Richardson - Aurelian Springs Global Institute of Learning, Ms. Margaret McGee - Everetts Elementary STEM Academy, Mrs. Angela Horton - Hollister Elementary Leadership Academy., Ms. Brinda Robinson - Inborden Elementary STEM Academy, Ms. Diana Powell - Pittman Elementary Leadership Academy, Ms. Alaysha Rogers - Southeast Collegiate Prep Academy Beginning Teacher of the year, Ms. Suzanne Elliott - Scotland Neck Elementary Leadership Academy and Mr. Teicher Patterson, Principal of the Year at Enfield Middle STEAM Academy. 

All were honored and presented with awards during the Collective Society's Enfield Gala and Awards Celebration on Saturday, December 28, 2019 at the Collective Center, 131 Whitfield Street, Enfield, NC

Teacher of the Year!

Superintendent Dr. Mark Lineburg recognizes Heidi Ward of Sydnor Jennings Elementary School as the 2019 Halifax County Teacher of the Year.

Submitted photo